Convocation Day brings awards and recognition to Richland employees

Richland faculty and staff were honored for their hard work and dedication at the annual campus’ annual Convocation, held Aug. 22 in Fannin Hall. The event capped activities during faculty “Return Week” on campus. 

Richland President, Dr. Kay Eggleston welcomed new and returning faculty and staff and presented the Convocation Address, titled “Belonging at Richland from Start to Finish.” 

New employees were recognized on stage in the customary Thunderduck fashion, with confetti. 

The highlight of the event was the presentation of awards. The Excellence in Teaching Award for Full-Time Faculty went to Dr. Carol Kent, Speech Communications. 

The Excellence in Teaching Award for Part-Time Faculty was presented to Phyllis Williams, ESOL/AECI.

Dr. Tim Sullivan documents findings as part  of the Little Egypt project in Lake Highlands.

Dr. Tim Sullivan documents findings as part
of the Little Egypt project in Lake Highlands.

The Finding Little Egypt Project took top honors for Innovation of the Year, with Team Leaders Dr. Tim Sullivan and Dr. Clive Siegle accepting the award on behalf of their team. 

The project involved study on the long-vanished black community of Little Egypt in the Lake Highlands neighborhood of Dallas. 

Becky Jones, executive dean, educational partnerships/dual credit received the award for Administrator of the Year. 

Among staff members, Randy Fultman, evening administrator/ACCESS was named Full-Time Staff Member of the Year while the Part-Time Staff Member of the Year Award went to Vincent Brown, assistant coach, athletics. 

The Jean Sharon Griffith Student Development Leadership Award went to Shawntae Minyard, college programs/educational partnerships director. She was credited for implementing a dual credit program at Richland for at-risk youth. 

Facilities Services honored four employees, by quarter, for their contributions. They were Charmayne Hightower, first quarter, Luis Macareno, second quarter, Sonia Ford, third quarter, and William Martin, fourth quarter.