Announcing TIPA winners

The staff of the Richland Chronicle received 16 awards at the annual Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) convention, March 13 to 17 in Corpus Christi. The awards recognized 14 previously published stories and two awards for “live” on-site contests.

With six first place awards, two in second place, five in third place and three honorable mentions, Richland Student Media proved itself to be a strong competitor despite the fact that they competed against not only other two-year colleges, but four-year universities as well. Richland dominated its category and showed itself as a force to be reckoned with.

There were four awards in advertising, three awards in the sports category, three in the general news writing section, two in in-depth reporting, one for critical review, one in feature writing and one for a breaking news photo. The awards were given for photos, multimedia, reviews, video, advertising and general news.

Some awards were given to the entire staff at the Chronicle while the rest were given to individuals. The Richland Chronicle staff took first place in the general news multimedia and feature news video categories as well as first place for photo essay.

Obase-Wotta Kammonke won first place for his sports game story; Tru Armstrong won first place for his sports column; Aly Rodrigues and Kaelyn Bradley bagged second place in a double by-line for general news story. Additionally, Mirco Daniel Mbega Ndoumou took home third place for a sports action photo, Joyce Jackson won third place in the critical review category and Chloie Lewis won an honorable mention for breaking news photo.

In the live contests, which took place during the weekend conference, two students received awards; Aly Rodrigues won third place for advertising and Obase-Wotta Kammonke won honorable mention for editorial writing.